The Pursuit of God

Pursuit of GodThe Pursuit of God by A.W. Tozer                                                 1948

This book came highly recommended by several friends.  Although I knew who A.W. Tozer was I never read his books, I am not sure why other than I thought his writing might be dry and out of date.

What finally got my attention was the subtitle, “The Human Thirst for the Divine” and the first chapter “Following Hard After God”.  When I was diagnosed with breast cancer I found a new passion for God.  The more I read the more I wanted to learn.  The more I find answers the more I want to seek after God’s Truth.  When I read in chapter 1, “…in Him we shall find that for which we have all our lives been secretly longing.” that I knew it was time to pursue God and to be led to a closer relationship with God.

It is not a large book only 121 pages, that said, it took me a longer to read than I thought, not because it was dry and out of date, it was because the book revealed to me a longing that I thought I had lost. Reading this book helped me to rediscover the passion I had when I first gave my life to God. I had found myself re-reading parts of the book, highlighting passages and writing notes.

On the back cover it says, “The Pursuit of God will draw you into a deep, abiding relationship with the One who ‘nourishes the soul’. …and exposes the roadblocks that keep us from fully knowing God, reveals our responsibility of the pursuit, and ultimately leads us into the very presence of God Himself.”  If your soul needs some nourishment, like mine did or if there are roadblocks in your life that are keeping you from a deeper relationship with God, then I recommend this book. 

If you have already read the book share your comments with us.

“As we begin to focus upon God, the things of the spirit will take shape before our inner eyes. Obedience to the Word of Christ will bring an inward revelation of the Godhead (John 14:21-23).  It will give acute perception enabling us to see God even as is promised to the pure in heart.  A new God-consciousness will seize upon us and we shall begin to taste and  hear and inwardly feel God, who is our life and our all.  There will be seen the constant shinning of “the True Light, which light every man who comes into the world” (John 1:9).  More and more, as our faculties grow sharper and more sure, God will become to us the great All, and His presence the glory and wonder of our lives.” 

“The voice of God is a friendly Voice. No one need fear to listen to it unless he has already made up his mind to resist it.”

 {quotes from The Pursuit of God}

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Books, Home and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to The Pursuit of God

  1. Laura says:

    I’ve not read this book, but have read several others by Tozer. I find his writings surprisingly current and relevant even though he wrote mid-20th century. Thanks for highlighting this book. I actually own a copy and a study guide, but just haven’t read it …yet. Time to bump it up on the “to read” list.

  2. I love his work. I also read The Knowledge of the Holy, which is an amazing study on God’s attributes. Both books make you thirst for Him.

  3. I’m finding it so hard to get back to reading… for various reasons… I did just start to read Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis .. (It seems I can read very little and then get tired…but I’m really going to try) Diane

    • Patty B says:

      It took me over a year to get back to reading. Like you I would get tired every time I would start reading. Then after Tom died, I lost interest and now I am back to reading and very seldom get tired. I adjusted the light on my kindle and that really helps. Hope this passes for you too. I want to read Mere Christianity too.

  4. Lori Lara says:

    Patty, I love Tozer. Like CS Lewis, his works are wonderfully deep; and because of their richness, can be digested only in small amounts.

    Glad to be back on my reader. I’ve missed reading your blog. Love to you.

    • Patty B says:

      I am glad you are back too, I have been thinking of you and keeping you in prayer. How have you been? Tozer is really good and I look forward to reading CS Lewis, I have only read the series of Aslan – my mind is so bad, I forget the title – it is only one of my favorite book series!

  5. I’m happy that you found Tozet’s writing so helpful in your journey. :)

  6. imconfident says:

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading the book. I think he really sums up life in chapter 8, where he states, “The whole course of the life is upset by failure to put God where He belongs”. If we don’t put God first in our lives, nothing will work out right. Now that God is first in my life, I have so much joy and peace. I also like the beautiful prayers at the end of each chapter.

  7. Excellent review. This sounds like a book I would enjoy.

  8. Sheryl says:

    There are some really wonderful older books. I haven’t read this one, but it sounds good.

  9. Sounds like a great book. I found it at my library. Just reserved a copy. Thanks Patty! BTW, how is BSF going? Are you enjoying it?

  10. I haven’t read the book, but it sounds like my kind of book! My goal is to draw closer to God by loving Him and seeking Him with all of my heart, mind, and soul. I can recommend a similar book you might like called “The Divine Mentor” by Wayne Cordeiro. Love & blessings to you, Patty.

  11. uribg says:

    Hi Patty,
    Thanks for liking my post “Featured Plant:Jewel Orchid” on
    uribotanicalgardens.wodpress.com
    I’ve enjoyed looking through your blog, there is a lot to think about here!\
    Best,
    Gabrielle

  12. I know that I am an anomaly but I have never had a human thirst for the diving. I’m happy with ashes to ashes and dust to dust………lol

  13. Dilip says:

    A nice review seems very interesting. Thank you :)

  14. sharrielynn says:

    I haven’t read this book yet, but I did read The Attributes of God for a study. It was life changing. I’ve downloaded this book to read, and I’m excited about it! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

