Writing Exercise – “Titles”

Last week my writing exercise was to develop an idea from a story title. It was a bit more difficult than I thought to come up with a story idea based on 4 words.  Not only did it get the creative juices flowing for this exercise but also for the writing projects I am having difficulty getting off the ground.  This was a fun challenge that was also beneficial in helping me get rid of my writers block.

Let me know what you think ~ I value your comments and suggestions.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

{artist unknown}
“The Heiresses of Hope”
 
Meet Anna, Marianna, Joanna, and Deanna Bradbury. When their parents were tragically killed in a boating accident in the summer of 1894 they became the richest and quirkiest citizens of Hope, Maine.  Throwing off their restraints and laying aside the conventional ways of Victorian society they set the Maine Coast on its heels.
 
Anna ~ who is always the one to do the right thing, finds romance in the most unlikely places.
 
Joanna ~ the writer with her head in the clouds writes stories on the eccentricities of the people from Hope, Maine
 
Marianna ~ who threw away her corsets and skirts and now wears trousers, rides around town on her bicycle making house calls as a midwife to bring in the next generation.
 
Deanna ~ one of the early suffragette’s speaks out for the rights for women and becoming the voice of those less fortunate.
 
Where will life take them? What joys and heartaches are in store for these 4 spirited young women? Join them as they find adventure, intrigue and romance in the coastal village of Hope, Maine.
About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Short Stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Writing Exercise – “Titles”

  1. It’s excellent Patty… you’ve given the quirky characters intriguing story lines to interest the readers…. Diane

  2. Maine is beautiful – and quirky Patty. Sounds like fun!

  3. I agree with Diane. A great intro.

  4. margaret21 says:

    Well, that’s got me intrigued. When’s the next chapter due, please?

    • Patty B says:

      stay tuned….you are all so kind with your compliments I may need all of you to help me!! Amazing how this little exercise created something bigger. I too have come to like these ladies with just these short descriptions.

  5. utesmile says:

    Sounds very good and promising, go for it!

    • Patty B says:

      YIKES!! This writing exercise sure did do what it was supposed to – get my creative juices flowing. I think I will but first things first…finishing the book I started last November. I feel like Jo in Little Women, when she says she has 10 novels in her head right now… .. :)

  6. I’m hoping this is just the beginning. The characters are already created and waiting for where they will go. What a great idea! You’ve already got a story line to build on!!!

  7. Patty – Now that we have a brief bio sketch of each of the sisters, will you develop them into a story. I love stories that develop around a family of women or set of friends. I’m looking forward to hearing if you plan to move forward with this – it’s a nice start.

  8. Wow! Terrific! One of the first rules of creative writing is to develop distinctive characters one cares about! Yours are wonderful and I can visualize this as a movie already. And I am so grateful you didn’t name them with each beginning with the same letter or similar sounding names which some novels do, until it hurts your head trying to remember each of them!. You truly have a gift Patty, blessings,

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you so much for your compliment. I was thinking “fun” and my inspiration came from the movies Sarah Plain and Tall and her aunts whom she called the treasures.

  9. I love them – I would hang out with them!

  10. Yes, yes! That’s a great result from your exercise. You could spend the next months working on an outline and then write it out during NaNoWrimo. Or just go for it now. Marianna is already my favorite.

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you for your comment, I am learning so much from you and value your input. For me it is Joanna, Jo from Little Women was my inspiration for her. Yes, I am getting drawn into their lives already. ;) I am working on an introduction of the book I am writing now and hope it also gets good reviews! I think this is what I have been missing, a good introduction and hope it inspires me like this one has already done for 4 ladies that I just met.

  11. Lori Lara says:

    I want to read it! Great work, Patty.

  12. Mustang.Koji says:

    The idea of writing a story based on a title is superific, Patty…and I feel you are off to a wonderful start. Four girls, eh? :-)

  13. My inquiring mind is dying to know what all four characters have names that end with “anna.”

    • Patty B says:

      My thought was to make it quirky and if I progress with it the mothers name will be Ann or Anna. They have to have quirky names to go with their quirky lives.

Leave a Reply

