Rainbow of Blessings

Niagara Falls Rainbow 2007

Niagara Falls Rainbow 2007

“Do everything without complaining and disputing” Philippians 2:14

Ok, how many of us complain? Show of hands.  Mine are raised…are yours?

Since September one thing after another has gone wrong and I am left alone to handle it all.  I can make a list of everything starting from taking the car to the garage 4 times with a 5th time schedule in Jan, and everything from minor home repairs to appliances breaking down, but then I would not just be telling you I would be complaining about it.

As I was in my “depths of despair” {Anne of Green Gables} God sent me a message in my daily devotional.  I read it last week but it was for the day of November 22 – with everything going on I am a few weeks behind in my devotional book.  But I know, had I read it on Nov 22 it would not have had the impact on me that it did last week after another mishap and another decision that needed to be made, as I felt myself sinking deeper into despair.  As my father would have said, “the straw that broke the camel’s back”.  It was another confirmation that God’s timing is indeed perfect.

The devotional spoke of challenges with young children and how this mother was being run ragged with two toddlers.  Then her car stalled out, she had a packed schedule and her husband was working late not to mention her daily responsibilities of taking care of her home. 

We all have similar challenges that face us each day.  But how do we handle them? Are you like me and complain because the car breaks down?  This time of year it may be that you have the flu.  My common complaint is housework.  With four dogs it seems as if all I do is vacuum and dust. 

Just a few months after my mother died, Tom re-enlisted into the Army.  Here I was 21 grieving my mother, taking care of a 1 year old and now my husband would be gone for 2 months leaving right after the holidays.  As I read this devotional I remembered my aunt telling me as she encouraged me through that time to count my blessings and I will find God is at work in my life. 

The author of this devotional, (Sharon Hinck2013 Daily Guidepost) wrote, “So many of the challenges I complained about were only in my life because of much greater blessings” 

As I started to shift my focus like Sharon I too can now see where my car repairs are a blessing – it is a blessing because I do not have to walk or take public transportation especially in these bitter cold PA winters.  Home repairs frightened me but my home is paid off and with some repairs from the past few years it is now comfy and warm and full of memories.  And the appliances?  Well, I still have a job and able to afford to purchase new ones.  My growing lists of things to do are blessings that I am able to accomplish them.  After my cancer diagnoses 13 yrs ago I know all too well-being too tired and sick to even pick up a book to read let alone accomplishing things that needed to be done.  So today I can see God’s blessings with my health. My grief too is also a blessing – because I have a husband who loved me unconditionally.  I don’t grief a lost love, but the companionship of a soul mate.  God’s blessing is that our love will never die and as I come near to that first anniversary when God welcomed Tom home I am blessed with having Tom in my life.  I was blessed with a good life with my first only love and having his children.

With joy I can say thank You God for the blessings He has filled my life with.  When the daily challenges pop up or my grief overwhelms me I pray that God’s Joy and Peace fill the depths of my soul as I hold His blessings close to my heart.

Dear readers, look around you today.  Count your blessings in the midst of your challenges and you too will be surprised to see God at work in your life.  What blessing is behind your challenge?

 

  For the 2014 Daily Guidepost click on the link.

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Rainbow of Blessings

  1. This post is very timely for me, I have had the flu for a couple of weeks and as a result my house is not kept up as I like…and I confess I was beginning to complain, if only under my breath. You have reoriented me this morning so I now begin my day properly, in truth. Thank you! Funny, too, because I was just thinking of you yesterday while walking one of my dogs. I love that you carry the love of your husband with you into your new life. Warmest wishes for a wonderful Christmas and a blessed New Year! Vivian

    • Patty B says:

      God’s timing is so perfect isn’t it? And thank you for that beautiful comment, your comment also brought tears – but in a positive way. I did not think of it that way, guess he will always be a part of my life. Christmas blessings to you and your family as well.

  2. jaggh53163 says:

    Patty – Your message is so simple – just change your focus. I’ve also seen it written this way:”Can’t see a light at the end of a tunnel? Turn around. You’re looking in the wrong direction.”

    • Patty B says:

      So true. A few years ago I found a plaque that said…
      “There is a light at the end of the tunnel, but beware it could be an oncoming train”!! I still have it. ;)

  3. I have realized lately too that while not all is right within our family, we have love and support within and friends who support and validate us in areas where we need it. God is in our midst and hope has not diminished…. Diane

  4. Patty, you are an inspiration to me. God uses you to bless others. My thoughts and prayers are with you as you approach the anniversary of Tom’s passing. I bet he looks down with love and admiration for the walking testimony that you are.
    xo
    Diana

  5. Thank you for this, Patty. I have a big challenge, but I also have been receiving blessings and opportunities that would not have come my way if not for the challenge. God knows what he’s doing when he allows hardships into our lives.

    • Patty B says:

      It is like the song…”Trust and Obey” I love our Lord so much yet always find it difficult to trust Him – I am thankful He is so loving and patient with me.

  6. margaret21 says:

    I’ve been getting a lot better at counting my blessings. It’s true that even the negatives in life can be re-framed as positives, though at first, you have to put your mind to it.

  7. Patty, your post is like reading an inspirational devotional… have you thought of publishing one? Thank you for the poignant reminder to count our blessings.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  8. Dilip says:

    Inspirational and poignant thoughts! Just as I was reading beautiful post I received a quote “God never shuts one door without opening another”.
    Wishing you a peaceful Christmas!

  9. lexiesnana says:

    I too have been being led by my devotions in the morning and had to tell you Patty that you are an inspiration to me. It is easy to serve the Lord when everything goes right but much more fulfilling when things are difficult. Thanks for reminding me that with God nothing is impossible. Merry Christmas

  10. tazeinmirzasaad says:

    My sweet friend, I have nominated you for a special award! Please accept it! The link is :http://transcendingbordersblog.wordpress.com/2013/12/23/the-parliament-award/

  11. PASTOR DAVIS/MASTER TEACHER says:

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year from our family to yours. Thank you for all the love and support you have shared with this ministry throughout the year. Peace, love and blessing to you and your family my friend.

  12. Mustang says:

    You are a blessing to me.

  13. Patty: Hello to a special friend. For whatever reason your blogs hadn’t been showing up on my computer (the desk top) so I had to come looking for you. I’m so happy I did. Your blog is at a perfect time for me. I’ve been grumbling for the past couple days as my PC died of blue screen death 2 days ago. My computer man said he could get to me in the middle of tonight. I’ll be grateful for whenever he arrives and am hopeful he’ll be able to salvage something. I decided I’d use the lap top so I could keep up with blogging but alas, I cannot get it hooked up to our Wi-Fi for whatever reason. So of course, no Wi-Fi, no internet. Without the internet, the lap top is just another paperweight. My third option is to use Tom’s PC and that’s what I’m currently doing. I’m a duck out of water on his computer and counting my blessings at the same time. His PC is designed to host his design size stuff and seems ever other time I make a key stroke, it’s wrong. But, his PC is much faster and easier than using my iPad to turn out a volume of work. Blessings my friend. Then I thought, what if a virus ate my PC, the kind of nasty virus that I could have passed on to my dear friend, Patty. I consider that a real blessing to have kept all of my friends safe from harms way. Merry Christmas.

    • Patty B says:

      Merry Christmas to you and your hubby – Sorry about your computer woes, I hope you are up and running soon. Been sick with a virus so now I am playing catch up. Other articles have touched my life in some ways so it warms my heart knowing that my articles do the same for others. I pray that your Christmas was a nice peaceful one. Been thinking of you.

  14. Just called in to hope you have a good Christmas with your family and with Tom in your heart. I have to confess I haven’t read your post but wanted to make sure you know that I think of you often and with love.
    See you in the New Year, love, Sally :)

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you Sally – everyone has been such a blessing with their love and support. Thank you for your care and love. It means a lot to me. Looking forward to sharing in your beautiful things for 2014.

  15. very good read! one of my greatest challenges after having a stroke was that I forgot a lot of things….I was sad that I forgot my knowledge of the bible and scriptures, bible studies, etc. yet, the blessing in that “loss” is that in learning this all over again….I”m learning what I think God wants me to learn and how it applies to his plan for me. I believe I am learning so much more than I ever “thought” I knew! I know first hand that every challenge indeed has a blessing!

  16. LubbyGirl says:

    Love it! I’m so behind on my reading . . . computer’s about to die, and the car is in the shop, but I’m so thankful I have a son who can fix computers, and an extra car to use. And I’m thankful for friends!

    • Patty B says:

      Oh my not a good way to end the year. My mother always said if you begin the new year with troubles you will end it with blessings. My wordpress blog is acting up and I am not receiving my notifications via email nor on my reader, I hope they fix it soon. I have been able to read a few but I miss my regulars and have gone into the list of my blogs but it is too time consuming and I don’t get a chance to read everything. But I am here going through blog withdrawal!! ha ha New Years blessings!

      • LubbyGirl says:

        That’s probably where I’ll be next week – my hard drive is dying, and I’m taking the computer over to my son tomorrow. He’s going to put a new hard drive in, but it will take him til the following weekend. He’s only down here on the weekends. I’ll have to do any blogging on my lunch hour at work. It will be good for me to do other stuff, I reckon. I’ll try to get through the blog withdrawals. :lol:

      • Patty B says:

        It is hard to get over those withdrawals – I am still having problems getting my notifications I will have to write them again. In the mean time I am trying another way to receive them but so far it is not working either… :( I miss getting all my blogs, instead I am only getting a handfull – I will be stopping by your blog soon to get caught up, right now I have to do everything manually and it takes longer. It is very frustrating to say the least. Good luck getting your ole puter fixed.

  17. Mustang.Koji says:

    I loved your title, Patty… said everything just right. I just sent you something…

    • Patty B says:

      Thanks – I got it. I love that video and would you believe I just saw it the other day on facebook. It was indeed a perfect for my rainbow. You are always so thoughtful.

Leave a Reply

