Hark the Herald Angels Sing

Christmas star

I do not know who created this picture. I believe I saw it on facebook with a quote.

It has been a busy week here – as I am sure with all of you.  My mind is fluttering to one thought to another and I can’t seem to stay focused

This is when I turn to music to regain my focus and what beautiful music we have this time of the year to keep us focused on Jesus and the hope and promises He brings.

So to keep the Christmas feeling flowing during this busy time of the year I would like to share my favorite Christmas Carol sung by Amy Grant.

I have many favorites and usually start to listen to my Christmas CD’s in July – you know Christmas in July!! And then come the autumn I listen to them every day.  Hark the Herald Angels Sing is the song that brings the joy of Jesus’ birth into the deepest part of my soul. 

May you and your family be blessed during this Christmas season of our Saviors Birth and in each single day of your lives.

What is your favorite Christmas Carol?

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Inspirational, Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Hark the Herald Angels Sing

  1. My favorite song is O Holy Night.

  2. I love Amy Grant! She has the sweetest voice and it always reminds me of Christmas! I don’t think I could choose one favorite carol as I adore them all ~ Adestes Fideles, Ave Maria, all the way to Jingle Bells. This is my favorite time to go to church! ♥

  3. Thank you Patty. I have so many favorites. I do love Hark The Herald Angels Sing. I love Away In The Manger. Little Drummer Boy (but only by certain people). Oh my…I’m sitting with my daughter who is in labor. Blessed Mary be with her now!

  4. I have two favourites; O Holy Night and Silent Night. Merry Christmas to you my dear!

  5. alygeorges says:

    I have many favourites but Hark the herald tops the list. I also love O little town of Bethlehem… I just love Christmas; it’s my favourite season of the year. Actually the more I think, the more I realize I love almost all Christmas carols. They just put me in the holiday spirit.

  6. Mustang.Koji says:

    Thank you for your wishes, Peggy! And my favorite of all time during this festive season: “The Christmas Song” as performed by Nat King Cole (his second recording, by the way.).

    • Patty B says:

      My dad loved that song too. I did not realize it was his second recording. No one sings it like he does. thanks for stopping by – always a joy to see you in our blog land

  7. From my childhood: my favorite is the Star Carol sung by Tennessee Ernie Ford. I don’t know many people who have ever even heard it.

  8. There are far too many great songs to choose a favorite, but Carol of the Bells has been playing in my mind all day today! ;-)

  9. I have a few but one comes to mind… “Joy to the World”……. Diane

  10. margaret21 says:

    As I get older, I find the old favourites I got rather bored with have become favourites again: ‘A Virgin Unspotted’, ‘Three Kings from Persian Lands Afar’, even ‘The Holly and the Ivy’. All best appreciated via the superlative Christmas Eve Festival of Nine Lessons and Carols from Kings College Cambridge. Many UK citizens, wherever they live in the world, can’t contemplate Christmas without it. I’m one of them. http://www.kings.cam.ac.uk/events/chapel-services/nine-lessons.html

  11. I adore ‘Ave Maria’, ‘Carol of the Bells’, and ‘The Prayer’. But the song that takes me right back to childhood Christmas is Snoopy’s Red Baron by the Royal Guardsmen. It’s an oldie but a goodie. What a great idea for a blog post. You should put together a little ensemble to play on Christmas.

  12. Merry Christmas to you! Your blog has not been showing up in my reader…sigh. I love your video…I love this time of year…so reflective and good for the soul.

    • Patty B says:

      I was having the same problem in my reader so I started to subscribe – if anything it fills my inbox!! ha ha thank you for your kind comment and God bless you and your family in this special season of our Saviors birth and into the New Year!

  13. Hi Patty, you and I share this as a favorite carol! Every December 1st I bring out my precious porcelain Nativity scene and set it up while playing this song (I love my copy by Mahalia Jackson). It is very important to me to keep Christ in Christmas. I also love O Come All Ye Faithful, O Holy Night, Silent Night, and What Child Is This? Also Bing Crosby singing Good King Wenceslas often brings tears to my eyes. I love Christmas carols. Thanks for this delightful post. Blessings, Gina

  14. Sheryl says:

    It’s hard to decide, there are so many wonderful ones, but O Holy Night and HarK the Herald Angles Sing are two of my favorites.

    • Patty B says:

      It looks like O Holy Night would win if I was doing a vote! It is hard to decide isn’t it? Other than the hymns I wonder what Christmas songs your grandmother sang.

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you – Will email you – still trying to get myself organized every time I think I am then something happens to throw me back into a life of confusion….Hope you and your hubby are doing better.

  15. Hmmm. Probably “Joy to the World;” and of course, “The Hallelujah Chorus” although it’s not a carol, but I love it just the same. I think that “hallelujah” is translated as the same word in every language. I heard Amy Grant in concert years ago. Amazing woman, amazing voice! Love and blessings to you, Patty.

  16. SingleFocus says:

    My favorite is: ‘Come Let Us Adore Him’.

    • Patty B says:

      Another favorite, we sang that at our Christmas Eve service. Can’t you just imagine that first Christmas and everyone coming to bow down to the baby Jesus…I know the song was not around then but this would be the perfect song to sing in His presence.

Leave a Reply

