Picking Myself Up

keep-calm-and-keep-moving-forward-9I found this picture and thought it fit my life right now.

And I hope that by keeping calm and moving forward I will finally be settled into a new routine.  Someone told me a few months ago that I will take a few steps forward only to fall back a few more steps in trying to move forward.  I did not realize how true that statement was, until I decided to take that first big step to move forward in my life.  I slipped many times but God kept His promise and not only did God never leave me, He sent His Son, Jesus to catch me and set me upright again. 

At first I felt discouraged and was beginning to fall into the trap of self-pity.  It was at that point I dug in my heals and was determined not to fall into that pit.  So I dug in my heals 2-Hands-Reaching-Outand as Jesus held on to me I  pulled myself up – dusted myself off and continued on, with the help of family and friends holding on to me I was able to pick myself up and not allow myself to fall even further into the “depths of despair” {saying from Anne of Green Gables} as I struggled over that first hurdle.  Those who have been here for me may have not known how they have encouraged me, but in their own special way each person in my life has been placed here by God for this time.

Now is the time to find my new place in this world.  Where do I go from here?  What is God’s plan for my life?  I do not have any answers yet, but one thing keeps coming back to me…”write”.  So I have decided to follow through on two things.  The first one is I signed up for NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month)  and I think I am still in shock!  And at the end of the month if I succeed with this challenge then I plan on taking a writing  course that is on-line for new writers.  Ok, I will admit even if I don’t succeed I will be signing up for the writing course.  The challenge of NaNoWriMo is bringing life back into me.  A new day has indeed dawned and I thank God for leading me to this point in my life. 

So here it goes…a deep breath as I take one giant step forward into this new adventure – praying that this is the road I am to take.  And if it is not, I trust God that He will lead me to the plan He has for my life.  

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Picking Myself Up

  1. Dear Patty,
    Sounds like an excellent plan. Sending you good thoughts, and wishing you a great NaNoWriMo!

  2. Denise Hisey says:

    Patty, you are such an inspiration to anyone struggling with how to move forward in the midst of pain. I’m so glad you’ve decided to participate in NaNo and it’s breathed new life to you. Keep us all posted!

  3. russtowne says:

    I’m so pleased to hear of your plan and actions, Patty. Good for you! May the adventure help you in many ways. I’m rooting for you!
    Russ

  4. This is a great step forward! Look me up on the NaNo site as Darla Writes, if you want to be writing buddies for the challenge.

    • Patty B says:

      I will – I have not been on the site yet, still writing from the ipad…but I will see what you are doing. It is slow going but I feel good about what I am doing. It is a good jumping off point for me.

  5. utesmile says:

    You are doing the right thing, and thank you Lord for picking Patty up and being there for her. I am glad to hear you have plans and good luck with such a challenge! Hugs Ute

  6. I’m sorry for the pain in your journey, but I take comfort from your faith and the love in your journey. Good luck with this new challenge, I look forward to the results.

  7. As I am reading your journey of moving forward, I kept shaking my head yes, understanding how hard it can be at times. I am at the same spot just for a different reason and so empathetic to what you are going through. Blessings to you my friend.

  8. I take my hat off to you, Patty. You are an inspiration. I send you love and wish you all the best in achieving this challenge. I look forward to seeing how you get on and to reading what you write.
    Love to you . I think of you often and hope you can feel the good vibes across the oceans. :)

  9. Patty – You are an amazing woman. I never doubted for a minute that you would move on in your life and great adventures and accomplishments are headed your way. I love your embracing God’s will for you to live and have a wonderful life. You are my inspiration time and time again.

  10. Patty, you possess an attribute that I greatly admire: COURAGE. My thoughts and prayers are with you as you move forward. xo

  11. jaggh53163 says:

    Patty – Having been in your spot for the same reason 10 years ago, Our Lord led me, step by step, to the place I am today, writing a blog and several books and articles. This avenue is something I never would have thought of by myself. Trust in Him and He will meet your every need.

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you – I have thought of you so often these past few months. It is a connection I wish we did not share but I am glad to have you in my life. Blessings

  12. margaret21 says:

    I’m so glad to read your post as I have often thought of you and wondered how you are getting on. Like everyone else who has commented, I admire your courage. Please keep us in touch with how NaNoWriMo is going. i thought of getting involved myself this year, but…. well, you’ll find out soon why I didn’t.

    • Patty B says:

      Thank you – everyone here has been a part of my healing and I am so thankful to know you. I have been enjoying your pictures and consider you lucky to live where you do. Blessings!

  13. Usually a strong desire to do something indicates you’re half way there already…and I most definitely believe you have writing in your very soul…. In any case God will I’m sure direct your paths… You are one special lady… Diane

  14. What better inspirational blogger could I nominate for the Inner Peace and Sunshine award than you? I do hope you’ll accept my humble nomination because your inner strength has been such a blessing to me. You can check out the details on my blog today. Congratulations,

  15. Sheryl says:

    From reading this blog, I know that you already are an excellent writer–and participating in NaNoWriMo and the online writing course should provide wonderful opportunities for you to continue to grow.

  16. Proud of you and the way you are handling all these difficult changes. Keep moving forward! You are mapping our a great plan! I look forward to hearing more about your journey.

  17. Amen! It is wonderful to have you “back” and sharing your God-given talent and huge heart with us!! xoxoxo

    Patricia

Leave a Reply

