Another Day Another Dollar

Someone sent this to me and I thought it was perfect for this article!

Someone sent this to me and I thought it was perfect for this article!

“Another day another dollar” is the saying my dad would often say.  Although today it could be said another day another pittance.  Even back when I was growing up the dollar did not seem to stretch far and today it seems that we are unable to even stretch it.  There are taxes to pay, groceries to buy, the necessities of clothes and shelter, gas for the car, heat for the house and the list goes on and on. As the prices of everything keep going up and up the value of our hard work and the dollar keep going down and down.  The “dollar” made is soon spent even before it gets to the bank.

I have heard different meanings for this saying but the one I prefer is the one meaning that I am setting off to the same ole routine of making a living only to see my dollar gone before I get paid.  I was raised with depression era parents, so we were taught at an early age to stretch the dollar even when there was nothing left to stretch.

I was 15 when I started my first real paying job it was a temporary job doing inventory for a local store.  Boy was it exciting at the end of the two week period to get my first pay check.  I do not remember what I bought with it, I would imagine clothes and maybe some books or records.  

When I was 16 my second job took me Kmart where I was a waitress in their restaurant, where I got paid $1.85 an hour plus tips. It is there that I met Tom where he was the Sporting Goods/Automotive Manager.  It was also there that I learned the value of the dollar.  As all young people I was a bit stupid when it came to smoking and yes, I smoked.  I remember when the cigarettes went from 50 cents a pack to 75 cents a pack and I thought I had better things to do with my money than spend it on cigarettes, so I quit.  

It was working this job when I decided to leave school and work full time.  An opening came up and it was a way for me to help my mother make ends meet.  My dad died when I was 14 and my mother had heart health issues that did not allow for her to work outside the home.  During that time of full time employment I decided to go in the Army.  When I was 17 I take the ASVAB test and while waiting for my physical I got to know Tom and before I could finalize going into the Army he proposed.  It was the right decision and I never regretted not having an Army career.  Little did I know that in a few years time my Army career would be as an Army wife.

At an early age I learned the value of the dollar and through the years we did make some bad financial decisions but we always came through them smarter and wiser when it comes to handling the mighty dollar.  Living within my means was one hard lesson to re-learn.  

Today now that I am alone in deciding financial matters I can thank Tom for teaching me how to save money for a rainy day and for spending wisely or as he would say,”sensibly”.  We would tease Tom and say he was cheap – picture Fred Mertz from I Love Lucy and that would be my Tom.  He would only smile and say, “I am sensible”, while my motto was always “you can’t take it with you!”  I would always say I am a typical German, I work hard and play harder and Tom was as Scottish as they come even though he was all American – proper, sensible and very responsible.  We complimented each other perfectly with our differences.  Thank you Tom for preparing me for this day – when you would no longer be here beside me.  And I thank God for blessing me with a wonderful husband who was much more than a husband, he truly is still my best friend and helped me grow into a “sensible” Christian woman, although every now and then I will admit I am not as sensible as I should be when it comes to money –  I blame that on the fun loving Irish in me!

Tomorrow I will be off to work again – it will be another day and another dollar – my bills will be paid, food in the cupboard and gas in my car.  I will also be a little bit more sensible when it comes to deciding how to stretch the mighty dollar.

How sensible are you when it comes to stretching the dollar?  

About Patty B

My life centers around my faith in God and my family. www.specialmomentsinphotos.wordpress.com www.thoughtsfromanamericanwoman.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in Home, Reflections and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Another Day Another Dollar

  1. Espirational says:

    I pinch a penny till it squeals. Setting priorities is an important part of handling money for me. Our moral and ethical beliefs limit the ways we make money somewhat, but we sleep at night.

    • Patty B says:

      LOL I love it…. DH would have loved that saying too! You are right setting priorities is very important, that along with seeking God’s guidance is one of the ways I came back to my senses and started to live within my means again. It does help one sleep so much better and make life so much better.

  2. Patty….beautiful post. I just wish the dollar stretched a little farther in life☺

  3. lexiesnana says:

    I learned penny pinching from my grandma. I think when you are young money does go through your fingers faster and you have to learn about those rainy days. My guy is pretty tight when it comes to money and most of the time I laugh when he thinks ten dollars is too much to spend for shoes.

    • Patty B says:

      Gotta love them!! When Tom retired and started to do more of the shopping he realized just how expensive things are now. Bless his heart, he never did willingly accept that.

  4. Mustang.Koji says:

    Patty, what a lovely and touching piece of writing. You express your feelings so well and with purpose. Hubby will always be with you, showing you which path to walk together!

    When my dad was serving in the 8th US Army during the Occupation, his small amount of sergeant’s pay went a loooooong way in the Japanese currency – which I believe was still based on the Occupation yen. My cousin Masako said when he would go down to Hiroshima during a pass, he’d let his nieces and nephews “keep the change” when they went to buy things with his money. Remember, there was still very little re-constructed even by 1947. Stretching the dollar then went a long way indeed.

    • Patty B says:

      It was the same in Europe – my mother not only learned from the depression but surviving in occupation Germany. I have had good teachers. I am honored that you reblogged my article, thank you.

  5. Mustang.Koji says:

    Reblogged this on Masako and Spam Musubi and commented:
    A touching story and remembrances for an Army wife now widowed. A very nice message…

  6. I actually can live quite modestly, so that when I’m working I save tons and right now while I’m not working or receiving employment insurance I can live modestly while looking for work.

  7. I am so humbled and inspired by the relationship you have (because it is still there) with your Tom. What a beautiful post. :)

  8. Great insights for living especially in these hard times and it is great comfort when you’re on the same ‘financial’ page with spouse. Thank you for sharing Patty.

  9. russtowne says:

    I enjoyed your post. Thank you for creating and sharing it.

  10. utesmile says:

    I am trying to stretch my pennies as much as possible too. I had my dad as good teacher about money business. A scott and a German went well together I must say! Glad he tought you a lot and you can use it now with a thankful heart and a smile on your face for him!

  11. Sheryl says:

    My family also often used the phrase “another day, another dollar.” I think that the meaning was slightly different in my family–more that you had slightly more money each day rather than working for a pittance. Now that I think about it, my sense is that the difference is sort of like the difference between a glass being half full and it being half empty.

  12. i’m not good at all.. never have been. I like to ‘pick’ up this and that for our home, clothes for me (I have a bit of a fetish re clothes because growing up I never had very many and those I did were sometimes hand me downs etd.) or something for ‘anyone’!! But like you I have a husband who keeps a close eye on our finances. Not that we too haven’t lived beyond our means at different times but we’ve always paid our bills and put food on the table and the necessities of life… Diane

  13. Denise Hisey says:

    I’m frugal in some areas, and not others. Saving money was an obsession when I was young. I knew it was the key to my freedom. I started babysitting when I was 10, managed a movie theater when I was 12, and joined the accounting staff at the school district when I was 14 and I saved every penny I could. Leaving home just after my 17th birthday required me to drain my savings, however.
    I’ve never been a shopper, but I do spend money on quality food and self care.

    • Patty B says:

      That is interesting that you had some responsible jobs at an early age…I am sure that indeed teach you early on how to handle money. Thanks for sharing.

    • Patty B says:

      thanks Sheri, been thinking of you. I am once again getting caught up on my emails. My email server had been down I could not even access on the ipad, so here I am behind yet again. I am keeping both of you in my prayers.

  14. gpcox says:

    I can stretch it pretty far when I have to – great lessons from my parents. But, I can spend it too when I’m in the mood.

  15. We were always on an “economy drive” growing up. I learned much from this! My children learned that term at young ages as well. Tightening the belt for everyday living, but not being afraid to have a splurge every now and then. My husband still laughs at me when I grab my half price coupon before I head out to the Goodwill store. :)

    Thanks for a great post ♥ paula

  16. my wife and I have learned to be good stewards of what God provides…and living on VA disability pay is a challenge..but at the end of the month…we always feel rich! We believe that learning to be content with what we have actually makes us feel like we have a lot! Actually, my wife is the real frugal one – her mother survived WWII in Germany…my Grandmother survived the depression so I think we have both been raised to be frugal. :)

  17. Claire D says:

    What a great post. I go through phases of penny-pinching (usually to save money so I can travel). One of the things I love about September is I get a new surge for saving rather than spending (think it has something to do with “going back to school” syndrome from when I was a child).

  18. My husband and I are on a government pension (Australian). We pay the rent, put the same amount into our ‘bills’ fund. Then when there are big bills there is enough to pay them. We make offerings each fortnight (to God), save… and God has blessed us. Here we are, in the US on the other side of the world, for your church convention. God is good.

    • Patty B says:

      that is so cool – how do you like the grand ole US? Where are you? I would love to visit Australia some day – it seems such a beautiful place with warm friendly people.

Leave a Reply

